The 1975: A New Era?

Let’s talk about one of my favorite bands: The 1975.

The group from Manchester, UK established a very unique and alternative image from the start. With their experimental songs, clever and well-written lyrics, and black and white aesthetic, they’ve attracted a loyal and passionate fanbase. Their first album, The 1975, did well with contemporary music critics and fans alike. I personally loved the album and their concert that I attended at the LC Pavilion in Columbus, OH, was one of the best live shows I’ve ever seen.

Their second album, I Like It When You Sleep For You Are So Beautiful Yet So Unaware Of It, debuts tomorrow and I’m not sure how to feel about it. Obviously, I’m super curious and excited to hear their new material, but the release of some of their recent singles has made me nervous.

First off, the band has completely changed their aesthetic. They have abandoned the monochrome look and adopted a pink and white theme as of late. Over the summer, they posted a cryptic cartoon detailing the demise of “the old 1975” just before their Internet presence disappeared altogether. They came back exactly 24 hours later with a whole new look. This was the beginning of the change.

A few months later, they released the first single, “Love Me,” from their upcoming album. This catchy but very poppy tune had people writing comments like “The 1975? More like the 1985” on YouTube. I personally was slightly disappointed with this single. Their next single, “UGH!,” was better than “Love Me” but still not great. Then they released “The Sound,” which was the first single from the new album that I could say I enjoyed. “Somebody Else” was after that and it gives me a shred of hope for their new album. Reminiscent of the sound they had seemingly abandoned based on the first few singles they released, it came as a relief to me. They released the last teaser single, “Change of Heart,” earlier this week and it isn’t quite on par with “Somebody Else” but it’s not bad. Based on these songs, their new album will most likely be experimental, just in a different way than their first album.

Either way, The 1975 is currently on tour with The Japanese House, a new obsession of mine, so if you can catch the tour I would definitely recommend it.

I may be the only one with mixed feelings towards this new album, as the singles I mentioned above have gotten an overwhelmingly positive response from other fans around the world. If you have anything to say regarding this change and the anticipation of their new music, feel free to comment below!

 

 

Leave a comment