X Ambassadors

I know it’s been a while since I posted since I was away on spring break, but I have some music news! On Sunday night, I shot photography at the X Ambassadors concert at Cat’s Cradle in Carrboro, NC, and it was the perfect end to a perfect spring break.

You may have heard X Ambassadors’ newest single “Renegades” all over the radio recently. I like the song, but it’s not representative of their best work, in my opinion. I was thoroughly surprised by the amount of energy X Ambassadors had on stage right off the bat. They were jumping all over the place, the lights were crazy, and they even brought out the fog machine. I hadn’t listened to much of their music before going to the show but the songs I had heard were fairly tame so I expected a fairly tame concert experience. They blew my expectations out of the water in the first 5 seconds.

Shooting them was so much fun. Both of their openers were good but they kind of stood around onstage and it was hard to get new shots of them. X Ambassadors, on the other hand, never stood still. Shooting them was a challenge and I was getting new material in each shot, which is so exciting to me.

The lead singer was constantly running to a different part of the stage, standing on speakers, connecting with the audience in a way that I’ve only seen a few people do before. He was standing on the barricades and engaging every single person in the songs. You could see his passion for the music he was playing and it was inspiring.

Hearing the music live has also convinced me to buy the album! I enjoyed the songs they were playing even though it was my first time hearing most of it. Their finale was amazing and they did a 3-song encore, including the song “Unconsolable” which is one of my favorites.

If you’re interested, check out my photo gallery here.

Until next time!

 

 

2 comments

  1. ginapalombipca · March 17, 2016

    I always love how going concerts can change your perspective of an artist. Not that you dislike them before going, but after hearing them live you feel so inspired to buy their album and listen to more of their music. Your pictures are amazing and definitely capture the cool environment!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Brian Anderson · April 11, 2016

    Nice pictures! They seem like one of those bands that would be great live so it doesn’t surprise me that it was an awesome experience. I have been meaning to see more live shows recently so maybe I’ll try to figure out when they’re touring again.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment